Even It Up!

Shifting the balance for jobseekers

Anatomy of a fake job ad

with 6 comments

Even It Up! was alerted to this job ad via Twitter (by the way, if you wanted to follow us, we are @evenitup).  If this isn’t a fake job ad, we’ll eat our hats!

Posted on Hippo, a few things should be setting off alarm bells right about now:

  • No experience is necesary in order to be making mega-bucks (if it sounds too good to be true,  usually is!)
  • Hotmail email address rather than a business one
  • No contact person to speak to about the role
  • Promises of “speedy career progress” to go along with the mega-bucks you are going to make from this role.
  • No website listed, so it’s difficult to research the business. We Googled AbT and came up with nothing.  Abril Commercial Foreign Exchange revealed this.  Typing the URL direct into the browser revealed this.
  • We typed the address into Google Maps and came up with an address that was not in Sydney, but rather near Parramatta.  A street view reveals either a park or residential area, depending on how you look at it.
  • Home-based job workers required (not that there’s anything wrong with home-based work, but in this context, no good can come of it!)
  • Really bad English.  Now we’ve thought about it, this is more like a scam than a fake job ad!  Sounds like something to do with either processing ill-gotten gains or ripping people off.

While the Latin phrase caveat emptor – or buyer beware – applies to buying goods, Even It Up! thinks that an equally appropriate Latin saying needs to be devised to apply to jobseekers.  Beware and aware!

Oh, and if (despite our warning!) you do want to send off your CV, do not include any personal details.  You never know.  The person being scammed could be you.

Written by evenitup

August 22, 2009 at 11:30 am

Posted in Recruitment

Tagged with ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You can’t blame recruiters for this one. But it is sad that this thing even made it to the internet.

    I will say that most people on this site are much too intelligent to apply to something like this. I hope.


    September 4, 2009 at 10:51 am

    • Also, if you are silly enough to fall for this, I know of a Nigerian prince that is looking to move some money to an American account… Let me know 🙂


      September 4, 2009 at 10:53 am

    • Hope so too, but these things keep popping up because there are gulllible/desperate/vulnerable people out there…


      September 4, 2009 at 2:13 pm

  2. This has to be a scam. CareerOne listed the email address “forex1work@hotmail.com” as a SCAM see info here http://www.careerone.com.au/about-careerone/protection-against-scams on 18th September 2008!!

    Have a look at some other job boards they have posted the advert to including SEEK (which has removed the advert), MyCareer, MyJobSpace. On the Google thread they have listed a different email address!

    Are the advertisers & jobs not checked? Talk about QA procedures. The job ad can be seen at these url’s below.








    August 23, 2009 at 2:17 pm

  3. Police interviewed on the Four Corners program on ABC1 last Monday reported that often these ads are recruiting for individuals to launder money obtained through phishing and other electronic fraud and identity theft activities: http://www.abc.net.au/4corners/content/2009/s2655088.htm

    Damon Schultz

    August 22, 2009 at 5:46 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: